Jackson County Times

Top Story News

Thursday, February 18, 2010

“Let The Games Begin!”

By Bo McMullian

Qualifying begins this Monday at noon for several city council seats in several Jackson County municipalities in preparation for the April 13 elections.

In Grand Ridge, the two-year terms of two town council seats expire this year--those held by Thomas Peaden and Kim Applewhite. Peaden has served more than a dozen terms, making him one of the longest serving public officials in the county. He may not draw any opposition, but if he does, he is expected to run. Applewhite, also the City Clerk of Marianna, is seeking her second term. She is a popular council member and carries the legacy of her father, the late long-time Mayor, Ducky Johnson.

“I believe there are great things happening for the town,” Applewhite told the TIMES on Tuesday, “and I want to be a part of that. On many current positive issues such as beautification and a $1 million solar power grant application for the new wastewater treatment plant, I think I can help our town make the right decisions.”

Qualifying ends at noon on Friday, Feb. 19. Those wishing to run must turn in their papers to the Town Clerk by 12 p.m. sharp. The election, if one is necessary, will be held on the second Tuesday of April, April 13.

Those same dates and times apply to the upcoming Marianna city elections, if they are necessary. The two-year Group 1 seat, occupied by the incumbent, Roger Clay, expires as does the Group 2 seat held by John Roberts. Both are expected to retain their seats, and may draw no opposition at all. Both are long-term councilmen; Roberts is a former mayor and circuit judge.

Marianna city commissioners James Wise, Howard Milton Jr. and Mayor Paul Donofro Jr., do not face election this year. First-term Police Chief Hayes Baggett must run again, if he decides to, in 2012.

In Sneads, the same qualifying dates apply for its April 13 election. The recent controversy concerning the new noise ordinance, passed to keep the decibel levels down at a popular nightclub, may generate some opposition for Group 1 incumbent Ricky Whittington and Group 2 incumbent Donovan Weeks. Whittington has served several two-year terms and Weeks may seek his second term. Sneads Council President Mike Weeks, Councilman Greg Lewis and Councilman Jimmy L. Wright don’t run this year.

In Graceville, a couple of two-year terms expire, those held by Mayor Charles Holman and Walter Douglas. Qualifying ends Friday, Feb. 19 for the April 13 elections. Mayor pro-tem Arthur Obar, Tommy Williams and David Horton do not run this year.

The same dates apply for Cottondale. The town council seats of incumbents Bruce Lambert, Miles Poole and Gary Dill will expire.

No elections are set this year in Malone. Those four-year term offices were voted on last September.

So, this is the line-up for the municipal elections in Jackson County….let the games begin!

No comments:

Post a Comment